Women in Auto Care Announce 2016 Scholarship Winners

Order Reprints

During its press conference and reception at The Venetian on Tuesday, Nov. 1 in Las Vegas, Nevada, the Women in Auto Care, formerly the Car Care Council Women’s Board (WB), presented Summer Miller with the Kathleen Schmatz Scholarship for $10,000 as part of the Women in Auto Care scholarship program, now in its 14th year. Miller is a student in automotive technology at Brookhaven College in Decatur, Texas.

“Receiving the scholarship from Women in Auto Care and the trip to AAPEX means so much to me,” said Miller. “I was speechless when I received the phone call telling me I had been selected. The first thought I had was wow, I can focus on my classes and grades without wondering how I would pay my tuition. I feel so blessed that Women in Auto Care sees my potential and is willing to help me achieve my goals. Thanks so much to everyone that made this possible.”

This year, Women in Auto Care gave away $60,000 in scholarships to deserving young women including:

High School

·       $5,000 – Mindy Brown, Greenville Technical College  

·       $2,500 – Claire Choinacky, Indiana University

·       $2,500 – Delaney McAvoy, Automotive Training Center

·       $1,000 – Leah Carron, University of Maine, Orono

·       $1,000 – Winter Stringham, Universal Technical Institute

·       $1,000 – Sabrina Alatto, Universal Technical Institute

·       $1,000 – Kylie Concelman, Community College of Allegheny County

·       $1,000 – Ryan Falk, Washington State University



·       $5,000 – Becky Babcox Scholarship – Jacqueline Hower, Northwood University

·       $5,000 – Continental Scholarship – Grace Cameron, Northwood University  

·       $5,000 – Sarah Spoto, University of Rochester

·       $2,500 – Babcox Media Scholarship –  Rachel Berbert, Chipola College

·       $2,500 – Laura Bulvas, College of Dupage                 

·       $2,500 – Kelly Callender, University of Colorado, Colorado Springs

·       $2500 – Sarah Bako, West Chester University

·       $2500 – Allison Washington, Ohio State University

·       $2500 – Shannon Holsten,  State Technical College of Missouri

·       $2500 – Tara Rodgers, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale

·       $2500 – Ellen Donabedian, Michigan State University


“It is incredible to see how much our scholarship fund has grown over the years,” said Vonda Lee, education committee chair, Women in Auto Care. “We are thrilled to be able to award Summer a $10,000 scholarship that will truly impact her education and we are grateful to our sponsors and all those who support us in our mission to help female students looking to enter the auto care industry.”

For more information on Women in Auto Care, visit www.womeninautocare.org or email info@womeninautocare.org.

Recommended Products

2016 Oil Change-Plus Survey

2016 Fast Lube Operator Survey

2014 Oil Change-Plus Survey

Related Articles

Women in Auto Care and AIA Canada Announce First Joint International Women’s Conference

Women In Auto Care Announces 2017 Women Of The Year Award Winners

Women in Auto Care Awards 2016 Auto Care Women of the Year at AAPEX

You must login or register in order to post a comment.