California Proposes Fee in Lieu of Smog Test for Older Car Models
California has introduced legislation (A.B. 550) that would allow owners of older-model vehicles to pay a fee in place of passing the state’s biennial smog test. Qualifying vehicles would have to meet specific requirements, and the fee would be $200.
In order to meet the required criteria, the vehicle would have to be 30 or more model years old, having been manufactured during or after the 1976 model year. The exemption would apply to such cars that fail the smog test twice even after the required repairs were made.
Currently, California requires a smog check with initial registration, then every two years with registration renewal, and transfer of ownership to a new owner. Cars manufactured prior to the 1976 model year are already exempt from the smog test.
If a vehicle meets all the criteria, the $200 smog abatement fee will be deposited in the Air Quality Improvement Fund. A.B. 550 will be considered by the California Assembly Transportation Committee. With California having the strictest vehicle emissions laws in the country, the passing of the bill could be a huge win for classic car owners whose vehicles spend limited time on public roads.
SEMA is encouraging California auto enthusiasts to contact all members of the Assembly Transportation Committee in support of the proposal.
This article originally appeared on MSN.