2015 Automotive Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

Order Reprints

Four individuals who moved the world forward through their contributions to the global automotive industry will be inducted into the Automotive Hall of Fame at the 2015 Induction & Awards Gala Ceremony in Detroit on Thursday, July 23.

The 2015 Automotive Hall of Fame today announced the inductees are Elwood Haynes, (1857-1925), co-founder of the Haynes-Apperson Automobile Company (1898-1925); Luca di Montezemolo, former Chairman of Ferrari S.p.A.; Roger Penske, founder and Chairman of Penske Corporation; and Ratan N. Tata, founder and Chairman Emeritus of Tata Sons.

The Automotive Hall of Fame also will honor Rodney O'Neal, former CEO and President, Delphi Automotive PLC, as its 2015 Industry Leader of the Year.

"We are pleased to honor four individuals whose entrepreneurial spirit helped create today's global automotive industry," William R. Chapin, president of the Automotive Hall of Fame, said. "Each made their unique vision a reality through tenacity and creativity. It is the story of the automotive industry from the beginning and the Automotive Hall of Fame is proud to share that story."

Considered the single greatest honor in the automotive industry, induction into the Automotive Hall of Fame is reserved for those who have made a significant impact on the automotive industry. Inductees are recognized for their individual achievements, innovations, and historic contributions.

The Induction & Awards Gala Ceremony takes place at 6:00 p.m. on Thursday, July 23 at the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center. The Induction & Awards Gala Ceremony will include remarks by A.J. Baime, author of "The Arsenal of Democracy" and "Go Like Hell." Tickets for the black-tie event are available at www.automotivehalloffame.org or by contacting Kerry Doyle at (313) 240-4000 or KDoyle@thedrivingspirit.org.

2015 Automotive Hall of Fame Inductees

  • Elwood Haynes – Elwood Haynes, (1857-1925) – test drove his first car in 1894 in Kokomo, Indiana, two years before Henry Ford's Quadricycle and less than a year after Charles Duryea's Motorized Wagon; co-founder of the Haynes-Apperson Automobile Company (1898-1925), which produced Haynes-Apperson automobiles until 1905, followed by Haynes automobiles through 1925.  
  • Luca di Montezemolo – Former Chairman, Ferrari S.p.A., restored the luster of the marque, returning Scuderia Ferrari to international racing prominence, while building the brand into a global powerhouse.
  • Roger Penske – Founder and Chairman, Penske Corporation, a leading international transportation services company, who also built Team Penske into one of the most successful automotive racing teams in history, winning 15 Indianapolis 500 championships.
  • Ratan N. Tata – Chairman Emeritus, Tata Sons, returned Jaguar and Range Rover to eminent status and profitability, preserving the auto industry in the United Kingdom.

2015 Automotive Hall of Fame Industry Leader of the Year

Rodney O'Neal – Former CEO and President, Delphi Automotive PLC, led the supplier through a tumultuous bankruptcy and transformed it into a premier global automotive supplier.

2015 Induction & Awards Gala Ceremony Speaker

A.J. Baime – Author of "Arsenal of Democracy," a chronicle of the unsung heroes of the American automobile industry who helped shape the course of WWII, and "Go Like Hell," the story of Ford Motor Company's entry into European sports car racing and how it brought Henry Ford II and Enzo Ferrari face-to-face at Le Mans.

The Automotive Hall of Fame tells the stories of outstanding automotive achievement.  Since its founding in 1939, the Automotive Hall of Fame has honored nearly 800 men and women from around the world.  You can visit the Hall of Fame in three ways — at automotivehalloffame.org, on social media including Facebook and at the museum in Dearborn, Michigan.

Recommended Products

2015 Oil Change-Plus Survey

2015 Fast Lube Operator Survey

Related Articles

Automotive Hall of Fame 2017 Inductees

First Female Automotive Pioneer Bertha Benz Inducted into Hall of Fame

Three New Members Inducted Into SEMA Hall of Fame

You must login or register in order to post a comment.