AAPEX Names Service and Repair Award Winners

Nov. 1, 2023
Awards were given to a shop owner, a service advisor, and a technician.

AAPEX has announced the 2023 winners of the annual Service and Repair Awards, according to a press release. 

Shop Owner of the Year was awarded to Roy Foster of Roy Foster's Automotive in Reno, Nevada. Foster took over the family business (which was originally named for his father) in 1994. He is involved with the industry and his community in a variety of ways, from judging SkillsUSA competitions to sponsoring and coaching youth baseball teams. He's also an advocate for the NAPA Apprentice Program.

Foster and his local parts suppliers have collaborated to donate parts and labor to a women's shelter. Additionally, with the Repair Shop of Tomorrow Brakes for Kids program, Foster has helped donate $100,000 in two years for St. Jude Children's Hospital. About $10,000 of that amount came directly from Roy Foster's Automotive. 

Service Advisor of the Year went to Greg Damon, the general manager at Sparks Tire & Auto in St. Charles, Missouri. Damon has been a service advisor for 25 years. He has nine ASE certifications. He completes 80 hours of training annually. Damon coaches youth football, hosts a national radio show called KMOX Auto Show, and has a YouTube channel called “Tales from the Auto Shop."

Technician of the Year was awarded to Master Technician Michael Miller of CarMax in West Sahara, Las Vegas, Nevada. Miller has 30 years of experience and has over 50 ASE certifications. He is an ASE Master Automotive Technician with L1. Miller is a subject matter expert for ASE and helps write some of the test questions. He is also a beta tester for Chrysler’s wiTECH2 and dedicates hundreds of hours to training and webinar opportunities in the industry. 

About the Author

NOLN Staff Reporters

The NOLN staff reporters cover the quick maintenance industry every day, from top to bottom. For news inquiries, please contact [email protected].